The Sunken Garden Poetry Prize for Chapbooks Now Open for Submissions

$1,000 Prize
Deadline: October 31, 2015 (postmark or online submission-date)
Final Judge: C. D. Wright

The Sunken Garden Poetry Prize is a prestigious national prize for adult writers of chapbook-length poetry collections. Established in 2002, the Prize has drawn submissions from around the country that have been judged by renowned poets such as Martha Collins, Patricia Smith and Tony Hoagland. The winner receives a $1,000 cash prize, publication, and an introductory reading at the Sunken Garden Poetry Festival (check out the Festival here). The winner’s chapbook will be published by Tupelo Press in time for a reading at Sunken Garden next summer! Manuscripts are read and judged anonymously, and all finalists will be considered for publication.

The Sunken Garden Chapbook Poetry Prize is open to anyone writing in the English language, whether living in the United States or abroad. Translations are not eligible for this prize, nor are previously self-published books. Employees of Tupelo Press and authors with books previously published by Tupelo Press are not eligible. Poets submitting work for consideration may be published authors or writers without prior book publications.
Please read the complete guidelines here.

For information on this year’s winner, see 2015 Sunken Garden Poetry Prize.
$1,000 Prize

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *